Extraordinary Moment/Ordinary Day

How many of your days are simply ordinary? You wake up, get dressed, chug some coffee, take care of the kids, get ready for work, run errands, get through the day, go to sleep, wake up and “lather, rinse, repeat” – the same old routine the next day. Sometimes you can go through it with your eyes closed, your brain off, you have done it so many times…

Exodus 3 opens with Moses pasturing the flock of his father in law, Jethro. The same thing he did every day and had done every day for years. I suspect Moses would understand our modern, concept of “autopilot”, he probably felt that way about the sheep, the same stinky, noisy, boring sheep…day after day.  Moses was on autopilot.

So Moses said, “I must turn aside now and see this marvelous sight, why the bush is not burned up.”  When the Lord saw that he turned aside to look, God called to him from the midst of the bush and said, “Moses, Moses!” 

At first Moses must have just glimpsed the glow of the bush burning. And then his brain caught up with his eyes, “Say, what??” Moses was on sheep duty, he had his agenda, stick with the sheep, don’t lose any, get them fed, get them water, bring them home.  Although it may not seem like it, Moses had a choice here – He could have kept his nose pointed at the sheep.   But, he decides to turn aside to get a closer look. His feet were moving in one direction, now he abruptly shifts around to “see this marvelous sight, why the bush is not burned up”. What do you do with those unexpected moments/unexpected encounters?? How do you respond to those interruptions to your sheep herding??

Now, do not miss this…”When the LORD saw that he turned aside to look…”  God was watching as Moses was just shepherding his sheep, being ordinary. God was patiently waiting, would Moses notice and stop or just ignore and move on?  God sees that He has Moses’ attention. NOW, God speaks and calls his name, Moses, Moses!

Don’t miss the extraordinary in your ordinary day!  If you are like me, most of your days are pretty ordinary, not a lot of change or excitement.  I try to make it a point every day to be “on the alert”.  You just never know when there will be amazing!

Turn aside for those God moments!  It only takes seconds, whatever the moment may be, a beautiful sunset, a little leaping lizard (this IS Florida – they are everywhere!), a child’s question, someone says hello!  Pause, enjoy and thank God for the moment, the person, the opportunity.

God is watching expectantly and waiting patiently for our response!  God is paying attention and expects us to respond.  Is my response pleasing to Him, helpful, friendly, genuine or am I distracted, going through the motions, ignoring the marvels and people He has allowed into my path?

God will speak!!! He reminds me of a favorite Bible verse, He brings a song to my mind.  I sense His presence, sometimes He reminds me of something I need to so, someone I need to call, someone calls me.  He gives an answer to a problem or situation.  I do not hear Him audibly but I definitely hear His voice!

Take good care of your sheep and keep your eyes open, there could be an extraordinary moment just around the corner!  Trust and Test God on this!

 

One thought on “Extraordinary Moment/Ordinary Day

  1. I LOVE this! Its like being in our discipleship relationship from several years ago. I love your heart for the Lord and your insights! Keep on writing my sister! I will be reading along.
    Love you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

