5 Ways to Be Comfortable

Comfort.  Such a soothing word in itself; it just rolls off the tongue!  Everyone has a favorite comfort food.  A good friend makes us feel comfortable.  A warm blanket is comforting on a chilly day.   A person who is grieving needs to hear words of comfort.

However, day to day life is rarely comfortable.  In fact it often causes the opposite condition, distress or depression.

Jesus knew He had a limited time on earth.  In John 14, He shares some words to prepare His disciples for the difficult days ahead.  Jesus words of comfort to them are also meant for me and you.  Here 5 ways to be comfortable; try them, they are surprisingly simple!

  1. Don’t Worry –  When my home is disorganized, chaotic or feels unsafe, I am distressed.  Jesus has a home all ready for me, He will come back and, He will keep me with Him.  I don’t have to worry about where I will live, how I will keep this home , who I will be living with or what kind of neighborhood it will be.  Jesus will be there, that’s enough.  (John 14:1 – 5)
  2. Find Answers to Your Questions – I ask lots of questions and not  the all questions have easy answers but  Jesus IS the answer to every and any question that really matters.  if you know Jesus, the Way, the Truth and the Life, you know God.  Ask Him, He will answer. (John 14:6)
  3. Get the Perfect Job – Sometimes a job is not much fun, it’s called work for a reason!  But Jesus said I will do even greater works.  No matter what kind of job I have right now, Jesus has a great work for me, it will be amazing.   He will inspire me to do it and equip me to complete it.  No application or interview needed, just follow Him!  (John 14: 12 – 14)
  4. Work with a Partner – Jesus sent a Helper.  He is with me always, He abides with me, He lives in me, He teaches me and He reminds me of Jesus’ words.   I can call on Him anytime, every time, as many times as I need.  (John 14:16,17 and 26)
  5. Depend on Dad – maybe your earthly father was not so great, maybe you don’t even have (or feel like you had) a father.  Even if you had/have a great father, he is not perfect.  God is my father for always, He is perfect and He will never abandon me and make me an orphan. (John 14:18)

Life is easier when I stay in my ‘Comfort Zone’, in the presence and peace of Jesus.  Get comfortable my friends…

Thomas said to Him, “Lord, we do not know where You are going, how do we know the way?”  Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through Me.” John 14:5, 6 NASB

Leave a Reply

