Writing 101 – The Letter

Pick up the nearest book and turn to page 29. What word jumps out at you? Start there. Today’s twist: Write in the form of a letter.

Dear Abe,

How have you been? How is your journey going so far? Not much has changed here, the same old same old. We did well with the harvest this year; it should be plenty to last us through the rainy season ahead; nice to get a break from all that work.

How is your beautiful Sarah doing? Mara sends her greetings. Please tell Sarah how much Mara misses her! You know they had that beauty pageant again; Sarah could have won easily, at least that is what Mara tells me!

I got your last letter, thanks for taking the time to write. It sounds like a lot has been going on with you! You know Abe, I got to tell you that some of the things you wrote sounded kind of strange. I am really worried about you my old friend.

You have a son but Sarah is not his mother – what? Abe, what were you thinking? I know you and Sarah were desperate to have a family.   You are both kind of old to start of family but so what – you’ve already waited a long time, couldn’t you wait a bit longer. You and Sarah are such a great couple; you’ve been married so long! I know how much you wanted a son; what man doesn’t? But Abe, did you forget what God promised?  I cannot believe this was your wife’s idea! Knowing Sarah, I hope she is not making your life too miserable.  Abe I have to say I am concerned about this boy’s future; I see trouble coming, big trouble, and I hope I am wrong. What’s done is done and can’t be undone as my father always said but jumping ahead of God always leads to problems.

Abe, I was sad to hear about you and your nephew. It’s too bad you had to go your separate ways; I am sure you are going to be fine but I am concerned about him. I don’t think moving into the city was a good idea. I don’t want you to worry but I’ve heard stories about that city.   Do you know if they are true? Some of the stories I heard are pretty bad. It is a non-stop party and can really get crazy, especially when the sun goes down. I’ve heard the people there don’t care about anything but themselves; they are full of pride. It can’t be a good place for his daughters! I hope your nephew will see it’s not as great as he thought it would be, we both know how the younger generation is. I also heard a rumor that he has become pretty important in that town; that should open up his eyes to what is going on. I still think you should try to get him out of there somehow. I know he is a good man and God will take care of him but see if there is anything you can do to help him – talk to God about it!

Well old friend, I have to wrap this up. Please let me know how things turn out. Time is passing so quickly and neither of us is getting any younger; I miss our many long talks, I miss you. I am praying for you and your family.   I hope I didn’t hurt your feelings but I thought I should be honest with you; I hope you understand.   God bless you.

Your friend, Mel

4 thoughts on “Writing 101 – The Letter

Leave a Reply

