Blogging 101 – Good Neighbor Inspiration

Assignment for Blogging 101: Visit and comment on four other blogs and then write a post about one of the comments you made.

One of the aspects of blogging I am enjoying very much is reading and connecting with other blogger’s out there.  There seems to be a blog for any topic and category you can imagine and many are very creative.  For this assignment I decided I would visit blogs I had not visited before.  Here is a list of my four favorites from this “expedition” and I enjoyed each one of these for different reasons:

Life in the Boomer Lane had a very humorous piece on the “Booty Pop”.  Never heard of it?  I hadn’t either!  Now, let me warn you this is not a “usual” topic for my blog and I fully intend to rant a bit here.

For those of us living in ignorance, Booty Pop’s web site claims, “Now you too can have a Hollywood backside that turns heads!  No expensive surgery or overpriced trainer required.”  “A booty-licious booty in an instant!”

Ladies, why are we never satisfied to just look like ourselves?  What is our crazy obsession with looking like someone else?   Especially when one of those someone’s admits she spends 2 hours a day – 2 HOURS A DAY – to look absolutely perfect.  Please read that again, 2 HOURS A DAY!!!  First, who has that kinda time and second, how self-absorbed can you possibly be?  Oh wait, I guess I just answered that question, 2 hours a day is pretty self-obsessed!  I confess I have my own image issues, I dye my hair and rarely leave my house without make-up.  I would not say I am a slave to fashion but I like to think I keep up with styles a bit.

In a world full of women struggling with body image issues and eating disorders do we really need to convince women that our booty’s or any other body parts must “pop”?  I don’t think so!  And here is the part that makes me craziest.  On one hand, we all applaud strong and independent women who celebrate their advancing age with grace (think Helen Mirren or Judi Dench) and women who are confident in their own skin ( like Gabourey Sidibe or Rebel Wilson).  But when we talk about ourselves, most women I know say they want to change something about their appearance and they are not totally content with themselves.   We believe the lie that we are not good enough, not slim enough, not tall enough, not booty-licious enough or we go the opposite direction and complain we have too much belly, arms that flap or muffin tops!  We convince ourselves that we are simply not enough, ever!  Why?  Any one who really loves me, any one who really loves you, accepts and loves us just as we are and we ARE good enough!

I’ll repeat the tongue in cheek comment I made on Life in the Boomer Lane, “In my case FBS (Flat Booty Syndrome) is genetic but still no less shameful or embarrassing.”  Well, the truth is that yes, I have a flat booty and I formally and officially reject all types of booty enhancement!  Yes, you can find me at Steak and Shake suckin’ down a few burgers and Egg Nog shakes!  Yes, I’m flat and I’m proud – deal with it!!

6 thoughts on “Blogging 101 – Good Neighbor Inspiration

  1. Yes! Who has 2hours to just look good for a day! Nope not me, gotta get out there and do my stuff in the world!
    I have flat boogie syndrome too! What the hey! I really don’t mind, I don’t have to look at it! And for that matter no one else has to either!
    😜

    Like

  2. When I was relocating from Zambia many years ago, an elderly church member said she wanted to pray for me. One of the things she said in her prayer was “Lord, I ask that you make this young lady to put on weight! Let her be fat, Jesus.” So, yes, being slim can be frowned upon as I have known from childhood. We just have to be happy with who we are because a big behind may be in today, but out of fashion tomorrow. You can never win.

    Like

  3. Betty, Betty, Betty….I love it – exactly – how self absorbed are we? Thank you for speaking for all of us who only spend enough time to make sure we’re decently and “fashionably” dressed with a little makeup on before we walk out the door. Even though it’s been a struggle to accept and be grateful for this aging body, having a “booty” really doesn’t matter when I’m playing with my grandkids or showing houses!
    Love ya!
    T

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

