Twenty Three

Twenty three years ago yesterday I:

  • got saved,
  • surrendered my life to Christ,
  • became a Christian,
  • was born again.

There was a great cloud of witnesses present as my husband and I walked forward in response to an invitation from the pulpit.  It was not the first invitation that my ears had “heard” but it was the first one my heart truly heard and received.  Until that day God had been drawing me to repentance; I had been resisting His invitation; saying, “Not today, God, not today.”

God had been softening the hard soil of my heart, seeds were being planted, the roots and vines of His Word were twining their way through my spirit.  I saw Jesus as so desirable that day; I wanted Him desperately.  I had wanted Him for some time, I just didn’t know it was Him I wanted. My longing for Jesus was stronger than the sin and shame that encumbered me – I fixed my eyes on Him and His promise.  As I walked toward Him I sensed Him running towards me like the father of the prodigal, running down the path to welcome his son home.

Throughout my life there have been decisions I have regretted, things I wish I had done differently or not done at all.  The decision to follow Christ was one of my best decisions ever and it changed my perspective on any and all decisions made before and since.  I continue to run the race that has been set before me; my pace may vary but my eyes remain fixed on Jesus; He sets my pace.  The cross has grown larger, taking up more space in the range of my vision; the high cost He paid for me.  The author and perfecter of my faith, Jesus, no longer has to run toward me – we walk together now, as we have every day of the past twenty three years.  I am grateful today and will be grateful into eternity.

Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run withendurance the race that is set before us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of faith, who for the joy set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Hebrews 12:1,2

If you don’t know the peace and security of being a follower of Christ you can give your heart to Him right now.  Here is web site that will help you:  Peace with God  If you prayed to receive Christ with a sincere heart today – Happy Birthday to You!  You are in for a great race!

6 thoughts on “Twenty Three

  1. Pingback: My Article Read (10-19-2015) | My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

